Live! At the Whiney-A-Go-Go!

October 21, 2007

Yesterday was the first day of the rest of my life.

Filed under: life — letslucky @ 10:14 am

And today is the second, and so help me it’s going to be a lot better.

We got all the divorce paperwork finished on Friday. I thought that the emotional rollercoaster part of the process was over, but nur. The good part is that the bureaucracy works very well at keeping your mind off things. Go to this room. Don’t talk. The man with the gun (bailiff) tells you to stand up and sit down and spit out your gum. You notice that there are a lot of disrespectful people in the courtroom. The judge doesn’t smile at them. She’s much nicer to the ones who stand up straight and who refrain from things like painting their nails. She’s very patient with the ones who need interpreters. And she tells me that my paperwork isn’t quite right and I need to go see the Family Law Advocate to finish up.

It’s very cool that there are volunteer attorneys who cannot act as your attorney, but they can give basic advice on filling out the forms, and they’re much less hurried than the judge.

We spent the afternoon waiting and being called up and waiting and getting one form finished and waiting and then finally finishing the last bit. And then we were official. I think we startled the lawyer by high-fiving each other, and making plans to go get a beer and celebrate our divorce.

Amicable! And many thousands of dollars cheaper than if we’d even had a mediator help us, rather than doing all the negotiating ourselves and using only minimal attorney time to verify that each of us is being fair to ourselves as well as each other.

Yesterday I celebrated and wallowed and pranced and cried and gloated and lamented. Today I’m making a list (yay! list!) of all the things I can do now that I’d had on hold. Cleaning the house. Starting my new job.  Answering customer email that’s been piling up. Making sure my credit reports reflect my new status. Rolling over retirement accounts that I’d been neglecting.

Waving, not drowning.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

